Political conditions in Africa

mereja's picture

Political conditions in Africa

In the current politics of South Africa, the African National Congress is the ruling party
t a national level, and in most provinces, having received 69.7% of the vote during the 2004
eneral election and 66.3% of the vote in the 2006 municipal election. The main challenger to
he ANC's rule is the Democratic Alliance party, which received 12.4% of the vote in the 2004
lection and 14.8% in the 2006 election. The leader of this party is Helen Zille. Other major
olitical parties represented in Parliament are the Inkatha Freedom Party, which mainly
epresents Zulu voters, with 6.97%; and the Independent Democrats with 1.7% in the 2004 election. The formerly dominant New National Party, who introduced apartheid through its predecessor the National Party, received very few votes and disbanded on 9 April 2005 to merge with the ANC. The current South African president is Thabo Mbeki.

South Africa is a federal parliamentary representative democratic republic, wherein the
resident of South Africa, elected by parliament, is the head of government, and of a
luriform multi-party system. Executive power is exercised by the government.
egislative power is vested in both the government and the two chambers of Parliament,
he Council of Provinces and the National Assembly. The Judiciary is independent of the
xecutive and the legislature. Government is three-tiered, with representatives being
lected at the national, provincial and local levels.

Following the 1994 elections, South Africa was governed under an interim constitution.
his constitution required the Constituent Assembly (CA) to draft and approve a permanent
onstitution by 9 May 1996.

The present Constitution of South Africa was certified by the Constitutional Court on 4
ecember 1996, was signed by then President Mandela on 10 December 1996, and entered into
ffect on 3 February 1997; it is being implemented in phases.

The Government of National Unity (GNU) established under the interim constitution ostensibly
emained in effect until the 1999 national elections. The parties originally comprising the
NU — the African National Congress (ANC), the National Party (NP), and the Inkatha Freedom
arty (IFP) — shared executive power. On 30 June 1996, the NP withdrew from the GNU to become
art of the opposition.

President Thabo Mbeki was unanimously elected by the National Assembly on 16 June 1999.

Rate this article: 
Average: 4.5 (2 votes)